

# E-gate Expansion Scheme



# **Background:**

The UK Government has announced that the expansion of eGates for nationals from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the United States of America will start from June 2019. In line with the ePassport gate expansion, citizens of Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the USA will also be exempt from the landing card requirement from June.

More information on the expansion can be found here: www.gov.uk/border-force/fastertravel

# eGate eligibility

Who can use the eGates:

- Citizens of the UK, EU, EEA countries (Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland), Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the United States of America.
- 12+
- Hold a biometric passport.

Members of the Registered Traveller service can also use the eGates. In addition, nationals of these seven countries will also no longer be required to complete or present a landing card

# Travellers will still need to see an officer if they are:

- Travelling with children under 12 years.
- Travelling on their National Identity card or with a passport that doesn't have a biometric chip.

 Coming to the UK for short term study, specific types of work or reasons (if they are from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the United States of America).

**IMPORTANT:** Please ensure you get your passport stamped by an officer if you are here for six months or less.

# Please see the <u>eGate animation</u> <u>online</u>, which includes:

• eGate eligibility & how to use

This animation shows who can use eGates and how to use them with a run time of 2.29.

### eGate exceptions

# - who needs a passport stamp

Most travellers from the new countries won't need a passport stamp except if they are coming to the UK for a specific reason, including:

- Short term students\* (less than six months);
- Permitted Paid Engagements (visitors);
- Entering under the Tier 5 concession (arts and sporting); and,
- Non EEA family members joining an EEA national.

These travellers will require a specific grant of leave, which is given by an officer (in the form of a stamp). Without this passport stamp these individuals will be unable to do the activities they are coming to the UK to do.

\*If you are coming to the UK for short term study (less than six months) or for any of the above reasons, please don't use the eGates and follow signs for 'see an officer' on your arrival into port.

# International students

- ✓ Longer term students with a visa or a student biometric residence permit to allow you to study, can use the eGates.
- x Short term students (up to 6 months) should not use the eGates as they need to see an officer for a stamp in their passport. This stamp gives them the permission needed for their studies.

Citizens of Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea or the USA are granted entry into the UK as a visitor for up to six months. As a condition of entry these visitors cannot work, study and have no recourse to public funds.

For further information visit: gov.uk/visas-immigration

### **Registered Traveller:**

Travellers from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the USA no longer need to join the Registered Traveller service. The service will continue for 33 countries and UKVI wants to increase membership for these citizens.

Link to: www.gov.uk/registered-traveller